cc: Life Science
Life Science Marketing Radio
A Rabbi Walks into a Lab...
0:00
-30:43

A Rabbi Walks into a Lab...

Just as scientists are curious about the “how” of the world, Lee Jay Lowenstein was curious about the “why”. That led to his becoming an ordained Orthodox rabbi. He was also a high school teacher and principal before spending some time in a non-profit as a fundraiser. At that point, he must have had some sales skills, but wanted something more.

With no real background in life science other than studying as a pre-med for a short while, he joined a partner and decided to sell laboratory supplies.

I was curious about how that happened. Why life science? And how do you sell supplies to people when you have little idea of what they are doing?

To answer the why part, what stands out to me from our conversation is the respect and admiration he has for the scientists doing research, hoping to benefit humanity. As to how he does it, relationships and curiosity. He never stopped asking questions about how and why a researcher does their work the way they do and how he could help make it easier for them.

I’m more of a marketer than a salesperson (I find sales difficult) but that seems like a pretty good lesson either way. Ask questions. Make the customer’s life easier.

I had been working for another company and just feeling I can do better. I can do better than this. These people deserve better. They deserve to be treated like royalty, and the opportunity presented itself to join hands with a partner and jump in with both feet, and I did.

As I reflect on what it takes to be successful, it seems that there is an advantage to being somewhat ignorant, yet bold. (I have no doubt that discipline and hustle are important as well.) Some call it the curse of knowledge. When we think we know what someone needs (even if we’re right) we miss the opportunity to discover what else they might need that we could help them with.

Lee is never afraid to ask a question and ask again if he needs to. In my experience, when you ask a scientist a question about how or why they do something a particular way, they can’t not answer. Their purpose in life (and how they are paid) is to share what they’ve learned.

…people in the lab are extremely generous with their time and understanding. I learned so much about the business, just sitting and talking to people. Tell me what you do. You know, tell me, why do you do it this way? Why don't you do it that way? And people were more than happy.

I don't think their PIs were happy that they were wasting their time talking to me, but they, you know, they're very generous and they want to wanna share their science.

Today there's fewer and fewer things that people can say that I don't know something about. But honesty and being willing to say, “I don't know”… I've never had a lab manager say, “Well, you're an idiot. Get outta my lab.”

I’ve said it before. Curiosity is a superpower. Combine that with helpfulness and see where it takes you.

Lee Jay on LinkedIn

Stellar Scientific


Schedule a 15-minute chat with Chris about turning conversations into content for your life science company.

Share cc: Life Science

Intro Music stefsax / CC BY 2.5

0 Comments
cc: Life Science
Life Science Marketing Radio
I interview marketing leaders inside and outside the life sciences (and an occasional scientist) to share the best ideas for making your marketing more effective.