Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

Holding on to Soul in Life Science

A walk and talk with Hoori Hussain

Hooriya Hussain is a life science marketing leader and a fierce advocate on the National Board of Governors at the Human Rights Campaign. Before filming this video we had had only two conversations, one on zoom and one at BIO 2024 in San Diego. Both times, Hoori mentioned the idea of soul in the life sciences. I wasn’t entirely sure what she meant. I was definitely intrigued. We decided to explore that on a walk and talk.

Trailer:

Our discussion revolved around purpose and leadership. The last year has been a tough one in life science beyond the usual pressure and uncertainty. Maybe that was what had prompted Hoori’s thoughts about holding on to your soul.

Before diving into that, I was curious about what it was like to grow up in Qatar as the child of immigrants and then immigrate to yet another country you knew nothing about except what you saw or heard in pop culture. She didn’t say it explicitly, but I noticed that Hoori’s thoughts on leadership, nurturing your own soul and understanding your purpose are deeply tied to the experiences of her youth, trying to fit in where “it just felt like anything could change anytime”.

The folks that do the work to understand themselves usually have a slightly longer shelf life in science.

When Hoori talks about this, I interpret that as understanding and staying true to your purpose. Satisfaction often comes from knowing the contribution you are making. Purpose is what will sustain you through setbacks, various disruptions and even layoffs. Is your purpose aligned with your work? Do you see how you fit in?

I have seen this in my own career. I struggled in graduate school (limited shelf life) in part because I didn’t look around to see what other options were available before I applied. Grad school seemed like the thing to do to feed my curiosity and joy of learning. It turned out that while research was interesting for a time, I wasn’t driven by it in the way my friends who are successful scientists are.

It was difficult to explain to my family and friends why what I was studying mattered to anyone. That should have been a red flag for me. I’m not saying it didn’t matter. But one thing that mattered to me was to be able to talk about my work with people outside the lab.

My path was not aligned with my purpose. I’m driven more by helping a few handfuls of people directly (and seeing the outcome) than the thousands or millions of unseen individuals who would benefit down the road from any discovery I might make. Understanding that sooner would have been helpful for me. My advisor would likely agree.


Like what you see?


Success in this business isn’t all about the science. There are problems we can’t solve yet, problems we will solve and some we got wrong, possibly for reasons unrelated to science. Leadership also matters. Hoori talked about the need to see people as intersectional beings. There are many factors that make us who we are and influence how we show up.

Good leaders understand “human protocol” and can mobilize people with the idea that they are important.

This is where leaders can make a difference, especially when things go wrong, by keeping the focus on solving the problem.

One thing when you ask anyone is, “Talk to me about a time where you felt really good about something.” And usually it's someone else had done something for them, someone made them feel great, and people never forget that.

Outside of life science, Hoori is exercising her leadership muscle on the Board of Governors of the Human Rights Campaign, making sure there is a place for everyone in society, regardless of differences or background. She has found her purpose and is helping others to find theirs.

Our conversation seemed to be a reflection of exactly the things we were talking about. In the course of that afternoon, I began to understand who Hoori is and why she thinks the way she does because we started the conversation by talking about where she grew up and how she came to the U.S.

What kinds of things keep us from knowing our purpose? As Hoori says, we often find it looking backward at our own stories to figure out the times when we were in the zone and at our best. In the meantime, we put our heads down and do what needs to be done. That is also important, but tough to sustain without purpose. You can write your own story or have it written for you. When you finish writing yours, maybe you can help someone else understand theirs.



Your deepest insights are your best branding. I’d love to help you share them. Chat with me about custom content for your life science brand. Or visit my website.

Discussion about this podcast

cc: Life Science
Life Science Marketing Radio
I interview marketing leaders inside and outside the life sciences (and an occasional scientist) to share the best ideas for making your marketing more effective.